3 ways to not piss off your freelance writer

The pen is mightier than the Upwork

Y’know as a freelance writer myself, the best way I can communicate these feelings I have towards my clients is to write them out. So, if you are looking for a freelancer to write for your company or blog, here are three gripes suggestions that I have when interfacing with them.

1. Don’t underpay

Not only will you turn off potential clients that could provide quality content, the ones that do accept a sub-par offer will not have any initiative to perform at their best. Unless you are offering something else, like say for example you have a large following on social media and them being credited by you will boost their following, don’t jeopardize the writing climate by putting out low rates. Sites like Upwork depend heavily on whatever companies decide to pay their freelancers, because people won’t use it if there aren’t getting good work.

 

2. Write clear job posts

A lot of freelancers specialize in niches, and too many times do I see post like “I need a writer to write stuff.” That is confusing af. There are many genres of writing. Some people specialize in a certain subject, I for example am specializing in urban music. Some people do persuasive copywriting, and some do rigid technical writing. Your job posts should contain what they will be writing about, a simple link to your website will be good enough honestly. Otherwise your post will look like a scam.

 

3. Don’t keep them in the dark

So recently I wrote 4 pieces for a client in the span of 4 days. After that week is done I receive no word from them for about 2 and a half weeks. I inquire onto them “When am I going to get paid? Were you satisfied with my work? When is it going to be posted?” And I receive an answer promptly. But I had to wait 2 and a half weeks just to know whether or not I was going to get paid, which is very frustrating, especially when the job post doesn’t say “Yo you gotta wait a long ass time before I approve all your work and then you’ll get started for the next month.” Remember your freelancer is a human being that likes to plan things, and keeping them in the dark will sallow your relationship.

 

Author: BlkLttrBoy

A wraith

Leave a Reply

